NMSU homepage EH&S (home)
Previous Meeting

April 21, 1999

Next Meeting


The monthly meeting of the Safety Committee was called to order at 3:35 p.m. by Committee member, Graham Munsell.

MEMBERS PRESENT: Richard Long, Graham Munsell, Linda Perez, Robert Rhodes, Mike Abernathy, Jaime Marrujo, Alex Barreras, and David Haley.


The February 17th minutes were discussed and approved.  Further discussion concerning the Non-employee accident form created by Katrina Doolittle and Mike Abernathy. This new form would be filled out by a witness or whomever an accident is reported to, not the injured person personally.

A Safety Policy would be best for Safety on Campus and give safety formal recognition. Katrina presented and Dr. Cunningham approved to having a Safety Policy based on Utah’s Safety Policy.  The committee was asked to review ASU and Utah’s Safety Policy prior to the next meeting to facilitate writing one for NMSU.

Graham is working on making the newsletter he sends out more active. The Safety Office is new position of Lab Hygienist would be working half time on training.


Long will correspond with the Dean from the College of Ag. to choose a new committee member from that college.

There being no further business, Richard Long adjourned the meeting at 4:26 p.m.  The next University Safety Committee meeting will be August 18, 1999.

Respectfully Submitted,

 More Safety News 


Contact Information 
 Environmental Health& Safety: MSC-3578, P.O. Box 30001, Academic Research Bldg. C, Rm. 109
    Street delivery address: NMSU, 1620 Standley Dr., Academic Research Bldg. C, Las Cruces, NM 88003
    Training Office: Academic Research Unit C, rm110 (see map ), 
    Telephone: 575-646-3327; FAX: 575-646-7898. Website - http://www.nmsu.edu/safety
    Send email to David Shearer, EH&S (click here) with questions or comments about this web site. 
    This page was last updated on 08/22/2008